Advice for an average developer

Hi, I’m an average developer who can create regular websites and apps. I am able to grasp most languages, libraries and frameworks but don’t know how to create them. I want to be able to do a lot more than that. I also lack good knowledge of Data Structures, Algorithms, Design Patterns, Software Architecture and Math. I want to become a really good Software Engineer.

I have a degree in Software Engineering but I didn’t study properly during college so here I am struggling to build anything great. I want to learn a lot of things but don’t know where to begin. I usually start learning something and soon end up changing the technology without actually understanding it properly. I also have one year experience as a Web Developer.

To get a better understanding of my skills you can check out the following links:

1. Github Profile
  2. Latest Project
  3. HackerRank Profile
  4. HackerEarth Profile

Here are the things that I know:

1. HTML, CSS, JavaScript & jQuery (Intermediate).
  2. C++ & Java (Basic).
  3. PHP, CodeIgniter & MVC (Basic).
  4. NodeJS, VueJS, REST API & AWS (Basic).
  5. Array, Linked List, Set & Map (Basic).
  6. Web & App Development (Intermediate).
  7. SQL & NoSQL (Basic).

So what I’m asking you is to give me a rough idea of the things I should learn in order and how to learn them. I wish to acquire solid foundation in all the skills I mentioned. I don’t want to be an average developer the rest of my life!

Please give me your advice, Thanks!

1 Like

You should have studied harder in college.

OK, I made a joke. But seriously, you have a degree in Software Engineering. You’ve been through the educational process. You know what it takes to learn these things (although it sounds like maybe you didn’t give it your full effort the first time). I doubt you need anyone here telling you what you need to do to become more proficient in any of these areas.

1 Like