Am I robbing myself to learn JavaScript?

I’ll get straight to the point: I suck big time at problem-solving skills and cannot progress half of the challenges without looking up the solutions.

For example, when I looked one of the hints here, I’ve noticed that many people have come similar solutions to the challenge except me and that bothers me a lot cause I can’t solve problems without asking for help.

It doesn’t help that I’m struggling in Basic JavaScript challenge, What will happen if touched the Algorithms and Data Structures challenges? Will I ever be ready to take on JavaScript projects and get the certificate?

I have no intention of giving up coding after coming this far, but part of me wonders if everything I’m doing till now is worth it?

For the record, I started learning JS in May 2019.

3 Likes

I’ve been a teacher for a few years, specializing in working with folks who struggle here and there… and math.

In my experience, it’s what you do when you’re looking up solutions adn afterwards that matters. When people just get an answer and think “ok! got that grade! Done!” … it doesn’t work so well.

When people get the answer, and then muck over it, try different things, and get it in your brain, and even make connections to “oh, this is like that, because…” then … things work better. Taking your time and figuring out what kind of thinking helps things make sense to you… it gets better! And keep askign questions :slight_smile: It’s totally normal to need lots of help at first. It’s a new language. Keep challenging yhourself and you’ll need less help as you go along. I’ve been asking lame newbie questions here for weeks :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Same here bro. I thought I am the only one struggle with algorithms stuffs.
You are not alone!!!

5 Likes