JavaScript practice tips? Can't seem to retain anything

Hello Campers, I could use some advice.

I’m a brand-new coding student, and I started freeCodeCamp two months ago. The Responsive Web Design module was fun and challenging; but JavaScript is giving me serious trouble. Around the Record Collection part, I keep having to use hints or watch the solution videos, which tells me I’m retaining very little.

This thread had some wonderful advice on staying motivated and identifying your deficiencies. My deficiency is I’m a bit lost on how to actually practice my JS chops.

I come from a blue-collar background, so I need a practical concept to link to the abstract concept. With HTML/CSS this was easy. With JS, however, I’m not sure how to get my hands dirty and not just build lines of code in a vacuum. It just seems like a ton of individual theories that aren’t leading me to a practicable application, as opposed to tinkering with FlexBox or the like.

Any recommendations or tips would be very appreciated. (For what it’s worth, I just downloaded Visual Studio Code.) Please explain as if I were a child, haha.

Thanks!

1 Like

Thing 1: Hints and solutions

The hints are there for a reason, so don’t be ashamed to use them sometimes. If you feel like you are over-reliant on solutions, I strongly encourage you to become more engaged here on the forum. It’s a great place to come and talk about the troubles that you are having with JavaScript in general or for a specific challenge. The incredibly supportive group of people here will be very happy to help walk through the process of solving the problem instead of showing you the solution. Sometimes all you need is a little reminder or nudge to work it out, and sometimes you will want to keep talking through each step in the process. You’ll be supported either way.

Thing 2: Abstraction vs. “practical”