My turn - I'm now a junior web dev!

It’s finally my turn to write one of these. Technically I could’ve written it already two months ago, but I wanted to wait until after my “trial period”. I’ve been working about 20 hours a week as a web developer since April and in August I’ll being working as one full time.

My Path

I’ve been in contact with coding in short bursts for 12 years now and when I was a teenager my goal was to become a game developer, so I did some coding in school and boy do I hate Java now! Anyway, I went on to work in a completely different field and during my master’s studies we read a couple of database courses which required us to learn some basic coding. Then chance happened and I got a job in my field which also included some coding, but with kids at a child’s level. In April last year I decided to get a better understanding of coding and that is where my journey started for real.

From April to July I coded sporadically in my free time and I think that the most advanced thing I built was a fully text-based Blackjack game in Python, which consisted of almost a thousand lines of code and a ton of if-statements - and some bugs. It took 12h of a Saturday and from there I was hooked, because I had actually created something myself with code.

In July I had so much stuff that I wanted to learn that I had to start keeping track of what I was going to do to not get lost in the pile of things to learn. I did so in a spreadsheet and am still keeping track of every day. I could list the technologies I consider myself adept at now, but quite frankly, it doesn’t really matter. I started out learning Python, switched over to JavaScript and I knew some PHP since earlier. I am now working with JavaScript and PHP and what I’ve come to realize is that if you know one language it is rather easy to just jump to another.

Job Application Process