26 years... And I'm at a roadblock. Help?

I’ve been designing websites since 1994 and have created over 2100 sites.

I’m fluent in HTML, CSS, and bootstrap. I also use Photoshop.

My problem is that I haven’t written much Javascript (typically I use pre-done scripts and modify slightly or they’ve already been there). I don’t know Javascript frameworks like react or angular.

Used to have my own business designing sites for small businesses and non-profit organizations, but a few years ago I transitioned to working for others and my skills were being used but I didn’t get to learn new stuff.

Last job I had, I was creating prototype pages for BAs and Product Owners and then handing them over to the .net and angular devs. No wireframes were created. Why? Because that’s how it was when I started and the devs used my prototype pages as a foundation.

Unfortunately, this meant that I didn’t get to use XD or Axure or Figma - which I wanted to learn but didn’t get a chance to.

I was still doing design in Photoshop (“why doesn’t it look like a web page?” was a popular refrain I heard when I tried doing wireframes years ago) because that’s how I had been designing for a long time.

So now I have a problem with job hunting. I often hear “you’re not a coder” because I don’t know Javascript frameworks, “you’re not a designer” because I don’t know wireframe software, and I hear “You aren’t UX” because I don’t have A/B testing or Sketch experience (and I don’t use a Mac… And I’ve educated lots of recruiters on why I don’t use Sketch because it’s not on Windows)

It’s frustrating. I used to be able to say “I’m a web designer” and then it was “I’m a UI developer” and then when javascript frameworks were pushed under UI development, I then could say “I’m a UI designer”. But it seems like I’m still straddling the job areas.