33 and new job at Microsoft as Software Engineer

Hello everyone,
I’ve used this site off and on again. I majored in physics and have spent quite some time as a hardware test engineer. I’m back to look at courses on Node.js and Express.js :slight_smile:

I’m more of a “theory” guy (coming from physics), and I’ve taken data structures, computer organization, and algorithms all at the university level. I appreciate that this website works on algorithm practice (you will probably get quizzed on those kind of problems if you are in any of the “tech hubs” like Seattle, San Francisco, or New York). I also used HackerRank and Leetcode quite a bit, and finished a Data Structures and Algorithms course on Coursera. As for projects, I wrote some stuff on a microcontroller, wrote a lot of VBA to automate all kinds of Excel stuff my old company worked on, then worked on this LabVIEW plugin in C++ which did all kinds of advanced math stuff and delved into all kinds of obscure memory management and efficiency questions. I thought here at Microsoft I’d be doing more C++ or C# stuff, but no I am building JavaScript!

I’ve been lurking here on the forums awhile, and I’ve kind of skipped a lot of the projects (though now I think I might revisit them!), but I plan on going back and finishing this whole curriculum eventually. I think it is awesome that people are creating wonderful tools, and I would love to contribute and teach myself as I have time and energy.

Anyway, thanks Quincy and this awesome community. I just love a community that is built on helping itself and others. Good luck to everyone, let me know if you have any specific questions or if you love to discuss algorithms :slight_smile: I love graph theory and C++!

16 Likes

Congratulations @wemiao on landing what many would consider a dream job! I hope as time goes on you will share your experiences and insights as a working professional developer.

Good luck, and Seasons Greetings…

Nice job! Congratulations!