A Bit Lost. And By A Bit, I Mean A LOT

Okay, so there is a bit of a wall of text incoming.

To start, I’ve been working in IT for the last six years, first as a PC Tech and now as a NOC engineer. Before landing my first job in IT I graduated with an Associate’s Degree in Computer Systems Administration.

About two years ago I decided I needed a BS degree if I was going to be able to transition from a NOC Engineer to a Software Engineer. I’ve been enrolled in an online BS degree program ever since and will be graduating in December.

Four months ago I decided I wasn’t really learning enough in my degree program to actually become a web developer (there is only one web related course in the curriculum) so I decided to enroll in a ruby on rails full-stack boot-camp. Going through the boot-camp while going school and working was tough, but I almost literally ate, slept, worked and coded and made it through. After boot-camp graduation in March, I was disappointed by how few places in the LA area were looking for Rails developers, (something I should I looked much deeper into before committing to the program) but applied to all the jobs I could find anyway.

I’ve been able to land two interviews, but both of them were Front-end JavaScript positions and the technical interview was done entirely in JavaScript. Needless to say, as my background is in Ruby and I only knew the basics of JavaScript, I failed miserably.

Ever since then, I have been learning JavaScript with EJS and FreeCodeCamp (almost finished the front-end cert), but don’t really know enough to create anything besides very simple projects. For the last two months, that’s all I’ve done is JavaScript coding. Well not entirely, I spent about three weeks coding in nothing, but Python and Django after going to a meetup and being inspired by the Python devs that I met there. Unfortunately, there are even fewer jobs for someone who knows a Python web framework here in LA…