A day as a coder web dev / app / programmer

A day as a coder web dev / app / programmer
0.0 0

What is a typical day at the office like being a coder?

I’d like to hear different experiences from entry level to sr engineers.

More discussion of an “average day” and work environments in that thread.

I work as an email developer at a marketing agency.
I’ll get in around 9, check emails, calendar and resource booking sheets (these detail what I’m going to be working on). Hit a scrum meeting around 9:30 with one of the account teams to get a more detailed view of the day, answer/ask questions about my work and also see what else is coming down the pipe. Then pretty much get to work building my emails til the end of the day (with a lunch and multiple tea breaks). Sometimes I’ll have to attend meetings about upcoming work to offer a developer viewpoint on the work in progress, to ensure they don’t design up something we can’t actually do. I’ll also occasionally meet with creatives to discuss their ideas and how we can make it work in dev. Throughout the day I’ll be chatting with my colleagues about work we’re doing or just generally shooting the breeze about tech stuff, we’re only a small team and work on projects indiviually, so it’s helpful for us to know what each other is doing.

Agency life is pretty good too, there’s often people brining in cakes/sweets, we have weekly drinks to go over company business and it’s generally a relaxed work enviroment.

Thanks for sharing.

Is this your first job at programmer / developer? If not, do you find this to be a more relaxed atmosphere than other places as dev? Do you find this to be typical shop for dev folk? Are you required to put in 10-12+ hrs in the office daily and/or can you work from home as desired?

I’m trying to get a feel for what to expect generally. Often times I hear there is a lot of burn out for beginners like me.