About programming jobs

Hello sir. Thank you for giving your precious time to read my concern.

Hey there! i am a coding student and i am currently learning js frameworks. i searched on google and found that the salary for a javascript developer IN INDIA is just 200,000 INR /annum (that’s basically indian rupees and that will be approx $2666 dollars). so less. why programmers are paid so less or is it just india who gets less salary in programming jobs. i’m a kid of 13. i know i shouldn’t think about it now but programmers are paid so less in the country which i live (India). so why do i learn all these and continue on the way to programming? my goal is atleast $60000(JUST MINIMUM) or even more than that max upto $120000. But, see in india - $2666. What is the point then? shouldn’t i go for a different field? i’ve just seen on google. But tell me is it true, that people in india recieve less salary in IT field? I"m thinking of changing my career. My question here is just simple - can you not earn much through programming or programming jobs?

1 Like

there is a different cost of life

look at rents, house prices,
groceries, and anything else, like I visited a random website and it showed 25000INR as monthly rent (and it was the highest one I saw in that page), that’s about 350$ - there are places in USA where 2000$ (150000INR) monthly or more is the norm
USA is terribly expensive even from my point of view, just not look at their salaries without seeing everything else

5 Likes

When I search I see the average salary as over 600k, putting it above $8k. According to this site, adjusting for COL, that’s a pretty good wage, your money going 5 times as far in Bangalore than it does in San Francisco. True, it’s not great, but you can live. And (like the US), you can probably save by not living in a big city and/or sharing an apartment.