Adding a dynamic reviews section to a website?

Hi all,

Wondering how I would go around adding a reviews section to a HTML website. I am relatively new to dynamic sites, if this counts as that, so don’t really know where to start. Any ideas?

I have a small bit of experience with PHP, but no knowledge of securing forms and how to avoid injections etc.

How would I go around adding a place for a person to leave a name, review, and stars on a site, and then it to publish them?

I have looked at:

1. Google My Business integration, but apparently they have deprecated the ability to add it to sites.
  2. PHP, but I have little experience with this, and I would be worried about securing it. We wouldn’t be collecting personal info, maybe only location, but obviously it needs to be secure.
  3. JavaScript, something like this: https://codepen.io/jamesbarnett/pen/vlpkh but more advanced. Not sure how to store the data however, I guess I would use an SQL table?

Thanks in advance!

Well, you definitely would need some sort of a backend with some kind of a database. Since you’re asking, I’m guessing that that means that you haven’t done that much backend.

You’d need a backend language. PHP is an option. As are Node, Java, Ruby, Go, etc. There are ways to secure data in any of those languages.

Another option might be something like firebase.

1 Like

I’d suggest Python with Flask for backend, it’s pretty simple and seems enough for your needs.
For security there are libraries (or maybe it’s even already integrated, i don’t remember) which will filter user input for you, to prevent injections.

What does Firebase entail? I have no/little back end experience.

I’ve got some Python experience, is there anywhere I can see how I would set this up?

Thanks!