Adding order style in JS

Hi!
i’m a beginner who’s working on a Memory Game for practice, mixing different ways trying to build it for learning, mainly from the freecodecamp tutorial and I got to the last part of shuffling and they put this code:

function shuffle() {

cards.forEach(card => {
let ramdomPos = Math.floor(Math.random() * 12);
card.style.order = ramdomPos;
});
}

it works for them differently from me, for me, it gives the same order number to all cards while for them it gives different numbers to each card (both made in div, and both been taken out from HTML with quarySelectorAll)

until this part, everything worked well but now it’s just not.
if you have an idea of what to check ill be happy to hear!

cheers!

1 Like

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make it easier to read.

You can also use the “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) to add backticks around text.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard.
Note: Backticks (`) are not single quotes (’).

1 Like

thank you, didnt know i can do that!

Hi again!

I am about to head out to lunch but here are some tips to get more responses.

It would help if you shared a codepen link to your full code so people can see the issue for themselves and have better context for the issue.

1 Like

Were you supposed to pass an argument to the function and forgot to add it in the parenthesis?
Like function shuffle(cards){...}?

Are you calling the function anywhere?
Like shuffle() or shuffle(cards) ?

1 Like

It’s also not clear to me how this changes the order. So, cards is an array. Why does adding a “style.order” prop change that? Unless you have something using that value somewhere else?