Advice for a teenager on becoming a developer

Hi All,

My girlfriends son who is 15 has mentioned that he is leaning towards a career in IT. At this point he is not sure which path to take, however has narrowed the options down to development or Cyber security. I have been a sysadmin for around 16 years now and so am familiar with a lot of aspects of both and have dabbled in development and worked with developers but I was hoping to get some thoughts on how best to give him a sense of direction and a reality check on what it actually means to be a developer. I was hoping to show him some videos people had made but they tend to glamorize things and don’t show what the day to day actually looks like.

I would appreciate some thoughts on how I can narrow down what type of development to focus on based on what it entails (front end, app, game development, etc), and what a typical day for a dev would look like (stand ups, code review, regression testing,etc).

Thanks,
Jamesy

2 Likes

If he wants to look into being a developer, and loves games, I would suggest letting him dabble in Unity or Unreal to get an idea of what it actually takes to make a game. I built a small game in the Unreal Engine using their blueprint node based scripting stuff. It was a good experience and really made me understand that this is what I want to do. I would suggest him to look at Brad Traversy on YouTube for anything related to Web Development, I think he does a great job of explaining stuff and he makes a lot of project based videos so when you are done you can see how things work together. Of course Free Code Camp is a great learning platform and they have some really good projects.