Advice for beginner?

Hey everyone! Nice to meet you, I am new to coding and therefore to the Freecodecamp platform! I have just started 2 days ago. I am really excited to become a front-end developer as I am also a UX designer. I have started to follow the curriculum and do the challenges which are awesome, but I am wondering if you guys have any advice about best practices to reinforce the lessons and to become more confident with the language? I am completely new to coding therefore Github and installing a code editor seems still unkown for me! Thank you in advance!

practice!

once you feel ready there are the projects at the end of the certificate. Whenever you are in the curriculum, you can at least start them

The suggested platform is codepen, so you do not have to install anything. All freeCodeCamp curriculum can be totally completed in the browser.

1 Like

Thanks a lot! I will create a codeopen account and start practicing! Can the projects at the end of each certificate be used for portfolio purposes or do we need to come up with extra projects in order to stand up for potential recruiters?

Practice is your best friend. It’s a cliche answer but if you don’t get your hands dirty you’ll never know the why, when, and where. Funny, I’m a frontend dev and now I’m learning about UX/UI. Have fun in your journey my friend!

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the advice! Yeah, my main thing is, i want to feel confident with the knowledge that I am gaining and be practical, I don’t just want to earn certificates.

Hi,

Learn, Take Notes, Practice, Repeat.

You will learn stuff and forget it. Believe me, you will.
If you take notes and then immediately practice what you’ve written down, practice will be a smoother experience and you will remember what you’ve learned much longer. This will motivate you to learn again…