Advise about my future

I am a student. I graduated from high school this year and I am well, very confused about my future. I don’t feel like joining a college. I like to make a career with the resources that freeCodeCamp provided me. I always wanted to become a web developer. I don’t feel that colleges are good enough for that purpose and being an average Joe, I can’t pay for the expensive colleges.

Coding for five-six years (with stops in between), I have gained basic knowledge about HTML, CSS, JS, Java, Python, C# and their frameworks like Express, React and MongoDB, Nodejs, Flask, JavaFX and other frameworks. I know that I haven’t completely mastered them but even so, I have gained enough experience to make a basic application. With those in mind, do you think I have scope to become a web developer?

3 Likes

If that’s what you want to do for a living, go for it! you surely don’t need to go to college if you don’t want or if you don’t have the money to do so, i feel like nowadays your knowledge and the things that you can do are more valuable than a college degree, so my only advise for you would be to always continue learning and coding, because sooner or later people are going to notice your skills and they’ll want to work with you :smiley: just keep going and don’t stop learning.

1 Like

Hey there,

so “Web Developer” is a specific job.

It seems you’re doing a little bit of everything,
while not going deep enough.

So I like to be curious, because I think it’s important to keep your tools sharp.
But a junior job is mostly not the right place to do this.

I think the next important steps are:

• gaining practical skills in building web development projects
  • showing that you are able to build web development projects
2 Likes