After a 4 years journey, I am now a professional developer!

In the spirit of paying it back to my humble beginning here on Free Code Camp, I have decided to write a post to highlight some of the things I’ve learned along the way. My story may not be the most impressive, but I do hope to inspire others who are still on their journey to becoming a professional developer. :star_struck:

I started learning how to code back in June of 2017 on a part-time basis. No CS degree, no bootcamp, just 100% self-taught. Throughout the process, I worked full time doing just about every gig job out there to pay the bills. I averaged about 20hr a week with coding. This was recorded in a personal blog that I still keep. Fortunately, I did not experience any major setback in my learning.

To be honest I was never in a rush to make this career change. I knew that if I was serious about it, I would eventually get there. Looking back at how far I have come, it has been one heck of a journey! :world_map:

The majority of my learning came from Udemy courses and collaboration cohorts. I did a few Chingu, but have heard great thing about The Collab Lab also. This was probably the most impactful to my learning.

USEFUL RESOURCES
Below are a few useful resources/strategies that have helped me along the way.

Community:

• Join a dev community on Slack or Discord and engage with others. You are never in this alone! I probably got the most out of Code Buddies. :slightly_smiling_face:

Collaborate:

• Join a learning cohort(see above) to level up your soft skills and learn the dynamics of working on a team

Pair programing :

• Talking out loud about your approach and just having another set of eyes on your code will help greatly

Goals and systems:

• Goals are beneficial in giving you actionable steps to achieve an objective. Unrealistic goals can lead to taking shortcuts and not producing quality work.
  • I was more focus on establishing systems and processes(habits) in my approach