Am I wasting my time learning Javascript?

So, when I originally started my journey of programming, I was aiming towards web development because I didn’t know where else to start and figured it would be the easiest route to get in.

I am by no means proficient but I’m starting to understand the basics of html, CSS and JavaScript. However, I am now knowing which career path I’d like to follow one day and it’s not web development. I don’t mine STARTING there but it’s not the end goal. I think my ideal career is to work for a company that builds actual software.

I’m still very new to all of this so I only partly know what I’m even talking about. I know JavaScript primary purpose is for web development/web applications. Do you think I’m wasting time learning JavaScript? Should I jump ship and go to something like Python? I also understand that it’s much easier to jump to another language once you’ve spent a good deal of time learning your first and truly understanding it. I’m at the point in Javascript where I can build something like a simple weather app or a very simple blackjack game just so you understand where I’m at. And I know the basics of things such as flexbox and css grid but this is where I feel like I’m wasting time going deeper into things such as super responsive web pages and whatnot because that’s not my end goal.

So am I wasting time putting a lot of my time into web development languages or do you think I should keep going this route until I have a SOLID understanding of programming before I jump to another language.

1 Like

you don’t need to worry what anyone says. You do you.
I never learned html/css/js in school, I learned lisp/java/C (I’m fairly old…)
And at Harvard university this year they start out by teaching C and Python (then a little bit of html/css/javascript)