Anyone else walked out on a junior dev job?

I worked hard to get my first dev job in the second half of 2016 and was happy to land a junior position at the very start of 2017 so I’m incredibly surprised to find myself handing in my notice 18 months later.

The position was always more of a full stack/PHP based role than I was looking for but I felt like I could learn this over time. However, while my JavaScript improved a lot I never really progressed on the PHP front, muddling through backend work when needed. Recently I felt like I was being asked to complete tasks I have no experience of without any training being given, then receiving non-constructive criticism when I failed.

When one of the devs above me quit (with a lot of his workload coming my way) I considered following him out of the company only for my mind to be made up some weeks later after being asked to deploy a site to a server (something I’ve never really done before) and then criticised when unable to do it.

So now I’m back where I was in 2016, facing unemployment, unsure that I will be able to get a reference from this company and uncertain that I will be able to get another dev job. Has anyone else been in this position? Can you offer any advice? Am I completely insane?

I’ve had other work experiences in tech, not in development, but this should be transferable

You mentioned that your JavaScript improved but the role was increasingly PHP/deployment based outside your scope. This isn’t a slight when looking for work. It means you know your abilities and will be looking for mentors or like-minded fellow developers in a new role.