Anyone familiar with Kaboom.js? Have 2 major issues with a game I'm working on

This is my first time building an original game and I am using kaboom.js in replit to do so. I’m a fairly in-experienced coder (I know basic html, css, and js) and since it is a fairly new system, it is hard to google search answers so a lot of my building has been reading the sheet from the kaboom.js website and a lot of trial and error. I am building a platformer with some shooting mechanics and I have 2 issues I can’t figure out for the life of me how to fix.

Issue 1: When the character changes directions, and a new sprite is added, when I push the shoot button the first bullet freezes and won’t move until I shoot the second bullet. Its supposed to move in the direction my character is moving. I have done a ton of tinkering to try and make it work but here is the code as it stands now:

function spawnBullet(p){
  add([
  rect(5,1), 
  pos(p), 
  origin(vec2(-3, -20)), 
  color(255, 255, 0),
  'bullet',
  ])
}

function shootRight() {
  if (playerRight) {
    spawnBullet(player.pos.add(5,0))
    action('bullet', (b) => {
      b.move(200, 0)
    })  
  }
}

function shootLeft() {
  if (playerLeft) {
    spawnBullet(player.pos.add(-5,0))
      b.move(-200, 0)
    })  
  }
} 

keyPress('space', () => {
  if (ammo.value > 0) {
      shootLeft()
      shootRight()
      ammo.value -= 1
      ammo.text = "Ammo: " + ammo.value
    }
})

// This is the code for the sprite change

keyDown('right', () => {
  playerLeft = false
  playerRight = true
  player.move(100, 0)
  player.changeSprite('player-right')
  player.scale = (.8)
})

keyDown('left', () => {
  playerRight = false
  playerLeft = true
  player.move(-100, 0)
  player.changeSprite('player-left')
  player.scale = (.8)
})