App Monitization Questions

Background:
I launched an educational app on the iOS store a few months back and it’s been getting between 3,000 to 6,000 monthly installs (mostly in the US), and averages around 300ish daily sessions.

The app is free to install and I tried monitizing it using Unity ads. I basically show a skippable add every few minutes once a student finishes a lesson. I also have an in-app-purchase to remove ads available for $2.99.

The revenue from Unity ads swings pretty wildly, but at this point I would say it’s settling around $10.00-$15.00 a month. On the other had the IAP to remove ads is making about $50.00 a month before Apple’s 30% cut and $100.00 annual dev fee.

Questions:

1. I was wondering if anyone had any kind of insight as to if my revenue per user is within a norm of what one would expect for an ad based education app? In my opinion I was thinking that it was on the low end, but I’m a self taught (through FCC and other sites) solo dev and finding meaningful data online about app monitization is like trying to discover industry trade secrets or something.

2. Should I completely overhaul my monitization strategy? I was thinking of possibly grandfathering current users so they would have all of the content as they currently do, but then for all new installs users would only get about 5% of the lessons for free and then they could pay $1.99 or something to unlock the rest, I’d of course also remove all ads.

3. Is 100-150 daily downloads through app store search enough of a base to warrant a lot more time developing the app? I’ve made a few other apps that only average 0-5 downloads a day, so I believe their fate is sealed, but this app seems to be on the bubble to me.

Thanks for reading and any help you can offer. I know there is a broad spectrum of experiences that people have on this forum, and I figured even if nobody has any insight seeing some of my numbers and issues with mobile app development may be useful to another noob.