Are Coding Bootcamps Worth It?

Hey everyone. I am pretty new to coding. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of research on Front End bootcamps. I’ve applied for two of them so far, DevMountain and Hack Reactor. I was just wondering if anyone here has had any experience with a coding bootcamp.
I have a few questions. Are they worth it? Am I more likely to get a job if a graduate from one? Please list the bootcamp you attended, when you attended it, and what you took away from it. Thanks in advance!

You’re more likely to get a job faster if you attend a good bootcamp. Hack Reactor is definitely a good one, though hard to get into and expensive. I don’t know much about DevMountain.

Check out Course Report for some other schools to look into, and other helpful advice.

If you’re just getting started, you’ll want to get prepared for admittance interviews for these schools. Most of them don’t accept raw beginners, and Hack Reactor actually wants its new students to know quite a bit. If you complete the front end certificate at Free Code Camp, you’d most likely be ready for any boot camp interview.

Hack Reactor also has a pre-camp for getting ready for their main program. App Academy has a program that advertises it will get you ready for any code camp interview.

Whatever you decide, good luck!

1 Like

Hello nialgcm, this is a short interview from the guy behind freeCodeCamp. I found it very informative. He talks about Hack Reactor and other bootcamps. Here’s the link:

I found it useful. Maybe you will too.

1 Like

Haha funny enough, i JUST graduated from dev mountain. i was DM-12 (DevMountain 12 cohort) which is the same cohort of Matt Tran (that guy in the youtube video above).

mod edit: [ no affiliate links here ]