Are my skills not enough to get a job in web development?

I have been learning web development for approximately 3 years now.

My skills/technologies:

1. HTML
  2. CSS (Sass and SCSS)
  3. Vanilla JavaScript
  4. DOM manipulation
  5. NodeJS w/ Express
  6. PHP (no frameworks just yet)
  7. SQL (working with relational db’s. Mainly mySQL)

It seems like most employers are requiring a bachelors degree in CS or equivalent. That eliminates a major chunk of jobs for me.

Second, it seems like these employers have specific requirements of what technologies they work with. Most do not match up with mine.

I just want to gain some working experience in a professional setting.

It seems like these employers are seeking those who have experience in specific technologies and frameworks. Some want wordpress fpr example. I have never touched wordpress. Some want certain CMSs and AWS experience, etc.

1 Like

Even if they ask for a degree, you should apply if you have the knowledge. Just demonstrate that you have the required skills, use your portfolio.

1 Like

Those are all skills that you can easily acquire on free online course websites like freeCodeCamp, coursera and EdX. Not to mention list is to broad to be done effectively and efficiently in 9 weeks. Even if you spend on them 24h/day.
I don’t really like nor appreciate the exploiting of other people insecurities (and in this field there are many).
Also I’m not that sure that putting advertisements on the forum is legit (I’m pretty sure it’s against the CoC that you surely have read).
For me, I surely wouldn’t enroll with a company that doesn’t respect the rules.
(Btw, flagging your post as inappropriate/spam)

Don’t worry about the requirements, apply. Worst thing they can do is say no. You have everything to gain and nothing to lose by applying.

Your skills are probably enough to be a junior developer, but a bit generic and maybe hard to stand out amidst prospective candidates with more targeted skills.