Are there any mums and dads of small children learning how to code?

HI! I am 32, a mum of 16 months old toddler and I was wondering if there are any other parents struggling with learning how to code and with finding time to do so.
I have started learning from FCC about 2 years ago being pregnant but after completing css, html and some of the JavaScript courses I had a break for.more than 12 months (my child was born premature and I went through beautiful but difficult times).
Anyway I started coding again from September but It is so hard to do it regularly, I see posts where people write that they get a job after 3, 6, 9 months of learning coding and I know that will be not my case. I simply cannot do coding every day, I sit in front of the computer when my boy is in the nursery and when he is having afternoon nap. In the evening I am just too tired and the weekends I spend with my family.
Is there anyone who can relate to this?

5 Likes

About to become a father for the first time in 4 weeks and Iā€™m terrified of exactly what you posted about.

Iā€™m going to have to find a way of making it work somehow but I can see already itā€™s going to be a slog. Weā€™ll have to keep each other updated! :smiley:

2 Likes

Iā€™m 30, got two kids (4yr and 8 months).
I quit my job to go back to school, so I donā€™t have too much of a problems finding time.
I mean, sure I canā€™t sit all weekends. So I have to make the best of it while the oldest one is at preschool during the days.
My wife is currently on a parental leave, so she is home with the youngster while Iā€™m at school.

I try to see it as a fulltime job, so I study around 9-16 every weekday. But on weekends I spend time with my family and donā€™t study. You need to rest as well!

2 Likes