Arithmetic arrragner code polish up

Hi everyone, I a new here, and in this lockdown I have started learning python to improve myself and develop new skills.
I am a beginner, and doing the scientific computing python course.
I have had a go at the first project, the arithmetic arranger, and I am looking for ways to improve my code:

maths = []

while True:
    a = input("enter first operand")
    b = input("enter operator")
    c = input("input second operand")
    d = (str(a), str(b), str(c))
    e = " "
    x = e.join(d)
    maths.append(x)
    n = input("have you finished entering the problem list? type 'y' for 'yes' or 'n' for 'no")
    if n == 'n':
        continue
    else:
        if n == 'y':
            break

def arithmetic_arranger(maths, results = 0) :

if len(maths) > 5:
        print("Error, too manu problmes")
    else:
        operatorlist = []
        for i in maths:
            x = i.split()
            operatorlist.append(x[1])
    filteredmaths = list(filter(lambda z: z == "-" or z == "+", operatorlist))
    if len(filteredmaths) != len(operatorlist):
            print("Operator must be '+' or '-' ")
    else:
        operandlist = []
        for i in maths :
            x = i.split()
            operandlist.append(x[0])
            operandlist.append(x[2])
        filteredmaths2 = list(filter(lambda z: z.isdigit() == False, operandlist))
        if len(filteredmaths2) != 0 :
            print("Error: Numbers must only contain digits")

else:
            filteredmaths3 = list(filter(lambda z: len(z) > 4, operandlist))
            if len(filteredmaths3) != 0 :
                print("Error: Numbers cannot be more than four digits.")
            else:
                for i in maths:
                    x = i.split()
                    topline = ("  " + x[0]).rjust(15)
                    print(topline.format(4), end="")
                print("")
                for i in maths:
                    x = i.split()