BEGINNER HERE! HELP. Where do I start? Checklist anyone?

Tell us what’s happening:
I am really overwhelmed, and maybe haven’t taken enough notes. I can’t even figure where to start with the tribute challenge. I have opened code pen, entered in some starting HTML. I would love to know if there is a way to learn what comes first, any help appreciated. Or should I just go back through all of the resources for CSS and HTML? My code so far is quite sad. I don’t even know what I am doing. Did anyone else get super overwhelmed with all the information when they started out?

Your code so far

Tribute Page

Tributes

information about the tributes here

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/84.0.4147.135 Safari/537.36.

Challenge: Build a Tribute Page

Link to the challenge:

Hello and welcome to the freeCodeCamp community~!

Starting your own project from scratch and seeing the blank screen can be daunting, for sure. Thankfully, the challenge gives you some “User Stories” to follow - these are essentially the requirements your project needs to meet.

Let’s look at the first one:
User Story #1: My tribute page should have an element with a corresponding id="main" , which contains all other elements.

So, we need to create an element. We can do that, right? How about giving it an id attribute, with the value "main"? The story says it needs to contain all other elements, so what kind of element should we create? What would be best for holding all of our other code?

User Story #2: I should see an element with a corresponding id="title" , which contains a string (i.e. text) that describes the subject of the tribute page (e.g. “Dr. Norman Borlaug”).