Beginner self-teaching to Job Ready skills

My current job goal is to get a job as a Jr. Front End Web Developer by learning HTML & CSS. I have almost completed the Responsive Web Design certification and have been learning HTML and CSS.

I have come to realize that I will need to learn JavaScript as well, in order to get employed as a Web developer.

My real concern, is the fact that there are many other areas that I will have to learn before I am job ready. For example, as a complete beginner, I am struggling to learn how to use the VS code editor, along with other areas such as file management, etc.

I am worried that I will learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript very well, but not know anything else, or what I should learn next, since I am self teaching myself without any knowledge. How do you know that you are job ready? How do you learn the extra skills that aren’t included in FCC that are required to be job ready?

The most important metric is your able to learn what you need as you go. If your able to learn the fundamentals of HTML/CSS/JS, good you learned the 3 foundational technologies the web is built on. Next, you increase what you know of those three by using them. As you said you will need to learn probably other things, like how to use VSCode, or other libraries and what not. The process of being able to learn and continue learning is the most important “job ready” skill. As it means you can learn what the job requires as you go.

There isn’t a point where you learn something 100% and your done now and forever. As in tech things change over time, you will need to keep learning and growing.