Best route to take become a full stack web dev

Hi guys,

Let me tell you a little bit about myself, my name is Luke and I am from Manchester.

I am currently an electrician (self employed) and it’s ok, but I really want a career that allows me to work remotely so, I decided I want to become a web developer. (currently trying to train myself)

I am currently reading Jon Duckett’s books and I am signed up to (freecode camp) while also doing a udemy full stack course. But I feel like it just isn’t going in.

So I looked for a training company to see if I could get some form of recognised certificate and trained up, I stumbled upon (the training room) but they want £2850 for 4 certificates in html5, css3, javascript associate, and React. Certs awording body is (CIW) is this recognised? Has anyone used this company, and is it worth it? or is it just a con!.
Should I just continue with free code camp and solo learn, also the udemy courses, and the books. And build my knowledge myself.

I’m kind of lost as to what actual direction to take any help/advice would be appreciated.

Hi Luke

I’ve not used them but when I was looking for jobs in Manchester last year, a lot of recruitment sites were spammed with ‘Trainee [insert any/every IT role here]’ listings by The Training Room. Add this to what you’ve said, sounds a bit dodgy.

I’m self learning around my current job too (CS50 and FCC), my understanding is that formal certificates don’t really matter in web development - it’s more about your experience, which you can demonstrate through a portfolio/projects/github. You’ll find huge amounts of resources on this forum and elsewhere, I found the P1xt guides to be a good starting point.

Another option is bootcamp, I think northcoders look pretty good but is quite pricey at £6k.

I’m currently debating whether to carry on the slow and steady self learning route or whether to invest in a bootcamp… not an easy choice!

Best of luck on your journey.