Brand, spankin' new

and feeling very stupid. I literally just started coding today. I’m not tech-savvy (AT ALL). I’m not a gamer. I didn’t even really play Pac-Man all that much when I was a kid (and I’m 45). I am, however, good at school, have a knack for languages and pick things up quickly.

I’m a massage therapist and you can guess how well that’s going with COVID-19.

I completed all 28 of HTML and HTML5 this morning. It was good and I’m digging’ it but how do I do this in ‘real life’? I have a MacBook. Where do I go? What do I do? I’m in this for the long haul. Even when I am able to go back to work I can practice at least 4+ hours each day to really learn this. I never again want to be in the position where I can’t ‘work from home’.

Is someone willing to walk me through the very, VERY basics of start-up?

Also, any books which may be valuable? The libraries are closed but I’m willing to order and wait. I really, REALLY don’t want to spend any money learning this. Especially now.

Thanks for any forthcoming assistance. Greatly appreciated. ~Suzanne

Well i would recomend to read some guides by Quincy Larson he recently made some intressting articles that I think would be a good read for you.

Have you gone on to the JavaScript curriculum? There’s plenty to learn there, and it’s essential for making any kind of modern website. And be sure to do the certification projects too, which will help cement your knowledge with practical application of it.

1 Like

Yes, I’m literally starting from the very beginning with the Responsive Web Design Certification (300 hours). I’ve completed the first one and am re-charging my computer and taking a break before I start Basic CSS. I’m definitely going to just go in order. But, how do I work on my computer (not via FCC platform to create? That is my question.

Will do between my lessons, thanks.

You can use visual code studio for that it allows you to work onto code even offline.
Also just a regulair notepad could work fine