Can I create a duplicate of the model freeCodeCamp sites in Projects?

I recently started coding and I’m doing projects. My next challenge is to create a Product landing page. this is the model product landing page

I for my previous challenges I created entirely different things from the model page from freeCodeCamp, but this time, because I’m having trouble getting ideas for my own kind of landing page, I wanted to code exactly what I see with the model; using the same theme, using the same kind of video.

Is that wrong?

I guess the lack of replies is an answer. I’ve done that. I mean the css because I’m just not creative that way. Of course the code is my own. I’ve had no problems with it and afterwards it is interesting to compare your own code and that of the model.
Go for it!

Greets,
Karin

Hi @maameyaatwumasi!

Welcome to the forum!

Somehow I missed this post or else I would have commented sooner.

I personally think you should create a page that is stylistically different than the sample page. I really do think you will learn more that way.

I totally understand struggling to come up with an idea. That’s total normal. But I think stretching yourself to create something different than the sample is going to be more beneficial in the long run.

Just try to break up the project into bite size pieces.

Pick any subject that you like. I picked desserts because there were tons of pictures online to use and well I like them :grinning:

Then, tackle the user stories and get them to pass.

After that, you can worry about styling the page. Here are a few ideas to get you started.

• Start with some colors that you would like to use.

• experiment with google fonts

• If I remember correctly, I think flexbox is required at least once for this project. Maybe you could create a cool image gallery with it.

• maybe for the product cards you could add a shadow behind it.
    https://www.w3schools.com/howto/howto_css_product_card.asp

Hope that helps!

1 Like