Chances of getting remote work paying $65k/yr?

I’m thinking about changing my career, and becoming a developer (note: I have no developer experience/skills). The idea started when I read the article at https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/wj93v5/remote-jobs-travel. FYI. The text that particularly appealed was 1. I could work remotely, 2. the average salary in web/app development is $93k, and 3. I can take free training online and within months be ready to apply for entry-level or junior web developer roles.

I’m left with the following questions, and would love input especially from any current gainfully employed developers!

1. How many months of free online training would it realistically take in order to be qualified to pursue paid work? What can I expect a salary to be for that first role? What’s the possibility that it be a remote position?

2. What’s the typical duration of remote web developer jobs?

3. Within 3 years I’d love to secure a remote web developer paying at least $65k/yr, working a consistent M-F schedule. Is this realistic? Is further education needed in order to make this high of a salary?

Welcome @Dan.

These questions are difficult to answer because timeframes vary for everybody.

I think you would get a lot out of reading other posts in this category, especially those where people describe how they got their jobs after months / years of self study.

You could also search the category specifically for posts about remote positions, since there are added complexities on top of just getting a job, which frankly can be hard enough.

1 Like

Thanks. I’ll check them out. Is there a rough estimate of how many developer jobs are remote percent-wise?

I doubt it.

It depends heavily on the area. Some remote jobs still require you to be in a particular country / time zone.

Many jobs might not be advertised as remote, but can be negotiated into becoming remote depending on the company’s needs.