Changing Careers - 20+ yrs as mechanical engineer wanting to get into IT development

Sorry for long prelude, but figured it’s good to have some background.

I have a Bachelor’s degree in engineering, have been an engineer for over 20 years, although in the automotive field. Most of my experience is more product development and product management than engineering.

Having a bunch of time off due to COVID, not voluntarily for the most part, made me realize how burned out I was, and making a 30-60 minute one way commute anymore just isn’t going to happen. Engineering jobs aren’t so remote work friendly. I just need to be around for my kids and not stuck in traffic trying to help them with activities, emergencies, and just being there. So remote work is ideal. And I need to find a job within a year because money goes fast.

I have a firm understanding of computer hardware and how Windows works after having had to tame DOS 6.2 and Windows 3.1 through Win 11 today. I’ve written more batch scripts and powershell scripts than I can remember. Am I an expert? No, by no means. But I also have modified Javascript, C++, python, and other code to suit my needs for personal projects. So I feel I understand programming, how it works, and the mentality behind constructing usable code with variables, for loops, importing/exporting data, splitting data, manipulating data to output to a more usable format, etc.

Where I’m going with this, so I’m not spinning my wheels, what certifications make most sense to complete from FreeCodeCamp? Or at least focus on up front? Is this really enough to find an entry level job? I just don’t want to spend a bunch of time doing something that isn’t value added.

I’m not looking to make $100k up front, but just get my foot in the door, and get some experience, and ability to work remotely for the most part, and see where it takes me.