Clarification about the stack overflow license

Hi

I want to understand what the stack overflow license.

Attribution : do i need to give attribuiton in a special page in my website if i have coded it with my knowledge and some code snippets from stack overflow?

ShareAlike : do i must make my softwares open source?

Or there is something that i don’t get right?

Where’s the link to the licence?

1. Yes
  2. If that was the original licence, yes (although afaics posting commercially restricted code would be against both the original licence on that code and SO’s licensing 🤷 but I’m no a lawyer and there seem to be some situations where that could work).

Basically, treat the answers as possible examples of how a problem could be solved, write the code yourself. You’re probably fine copying things when it’s just you for non-commercial purposes. If you are producing code for commercial purpose, you have to be very careful, no copy paste. If you’re producing code in an environment where there are lawyers checking stuff (big company for example) then they’d probably take your head off if you were caught doing it. In practise – often doesn’t matter, but if you put it into commercial code, it could and it’s not worth that risk.

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/

1 Like

You can look at the bottom of a stack overflow page it’s written “user contributions licensed under cc by-sa 3.0 with attribution required.”

1 Like

Thanks, Xeny. That helps.

Okay, that second link tells you exactly what to do:
++++++++

So let me clarify what we mean by attribution. If you republish this content, we require that you:

1. Visually indicate that the content is from Stack Overflow or the Stack Exchange network in some way. It doesn’t have to be obnoxious; a discreet text blurb is fine.
2. Hyperlink directly to the original question on the source site (e.g., http://stackoverflow.com/questions/12345)
3. Show the author names for every question and answer