Code competitions - good for you?

Hi,

I have been seeing a lot of trending for code competition sites (codewars, codin, etc etc). I have tried a couple myself and I have a “mixed feeling” about them.

I understand the appeal especially if you are getting into the “development world”. Having a site with multiple challenges in multiple languages can increase your skills for sure, but is the “competition factor” really helping someone who is just starting out? In fact, is it helping anyone at all?

In our “core” we are competitive but does it make any sense “competing” against another developer? I even read in some blog posts that you should go to these site and “work your way up the ranking” because then you will have a good job! What kind of an employer searches developers based on how competitive they are? Is that a place you would want to work at? (i know i would not!!)

I am fairly new in FCC and consider myself a “junior/mid web developer”, however i have been a developer for +10 years (mostly Java, C++,Sql stuff) working in many different teams and I can’t remember a single case where “competition” was encouraged. If my current employer would tell me to “compete” with my teammates i would quit on the spot!

For me software development has always been a “team sport”. You must be as tired of this quote as I am, but its appropriate for this thread so here it goes: "Great developers don’t develop great software, great teams do!“

Before I ask your opinion I just want to point out that I am not saying that “life is not a competition”… not at all… the software you develop has to compete with similar software (made by a “competing” team). We have to “compete” with each other in many fields but I don’t see Software Development “itself” as one of them.

I personally feel I grow much more as a developer when I am helping out someone (or being helped by someone) to solve a particular problem.

Now is “polling time”: