Coding for art museums

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to coding, but someday I would like to work for an art museum creating applications to help researchers and managing digital archives and databases. I’m also really interested in certain museums’ work with digital publishing (my background is in arts publishing, but I’m feeling a little limited by traditional bookmaking these days).

I’ve been analyzing job postings for software engineering positions at museums in order to plan my course of study, but I was hoping to find others here with similar interests. This seems like a somewhat niche field within CS, but if anyone has experience working for an art museum’s IT or digital departments, I’d love to pick your brain! And if anyone else has similar goals, perhaps we could support and encourage each other.

Thanks for reading!

That sounds like a great goal. But I think your goal right now should be learning to code. That will be the number one thing that will get you closer to your goal.

This seems like a somewhat niche field within CS, …

I really don’t think so. For the most of the part, coding is coding. There are certain specializations where you need very specific knowledge, but I’m assuming that there isn’t some monster web framework just for museums. I’m sure having a background in art would be nice, but I’m willing to bet they have some coders working for them that think a Pollock is a kind of fish. I worked for a few years for a trucking company. I still don’t know much about the trucking industry. I didn’t really need to - I just needed to have coding tasks and acceptance criteria.