Coding Is it Really For Me?

I am truly a novice at coding. My husband has always been techy with a Graphic Design, IT, and soon to be Computer Science degree. He has a Systems Administrator job at Boeing and has had his CCNA amongst other types of certifications. He is encouraging me to become a programmer as I am unsure of what I want to do at this point in my life. I have a Law and Justice degree, but after working as a legal assistant for 10 years after the recent passing of my boss I am looking for a change. I have finished the first two sections of the Front End Certification, but I feel lost at times. Trying to have a positive mindset that I can continue down this path to see if it is the right one for me. I guess some words of encouragement or where to start would be very helpful in seeing if I should pursue this journey. Any suggestions as to what types of books or materials I should be reviewing to ensure that I get a grasp on coding, especially for beginners?

Learning to code is hard. I haven’t heard of anyone who found it easy. So you are in good company!

I wasn’t sure at first either if coding was for me. I kept getting frustrated and getting stuck. When that happened, I felt stupid and there are many times when I wanted to give up.

Some things I found out:

• It’s okay to ask for help. For the most part, people will be really supportive.
  • You do get used to the frustration. It doesn’t go away, you just get used to it. I hated the frustration and now it has become a way of life.
  • It’s normal to feel lost. You are getting used to a new way of thinking and solving problems you are not used to.
  • The best thing you can learn is how to find the information you need. Knowing what to enter in google is a really important skill to learn. It is hard at first, but it will come with time.