Complete beginner here, possible stupid question

So, I’m only on like the second Javascript lesson. It’s teaching me how to assign values to variables.

// Setup

var a;

var b = 2;

// Only change code below this line

a = 7;

b = a;

This is the correct solution, but I’m confused on the logic here. If there is a Variable a, and it equals 7, and variable b equals 2. How does variable b equal a? What will this do to future code? If I go to use variable b in the future, will it be 2 or 7, and why?

I’ve edited your post for readability. When you enter a code block into a forum post, please precede it with a separate line of three backticks and follow it with a separate line of three backticks to make easier to read.

See this post to find the backtick on your keyboard. The “preformatted text” tool in the editor (</>) will also add backticks around text.

Note: Backticks are not single quotes.

markdown_Forums

The answer is that you replaced the value of b.

Javascript is loaded from top to bottom. So when you wrote b = a; you changed b’s value to be a not 2. So in the browser b will = 2 until it hit’s b = a and b will no longer = 2.

So in essence, it’s letting me re-use variable b in the future without having to create a new variable? All of my code above b = a will have b = 2, whilst everything below will have b = 7?

No quite. Once the code loads, b will equal a. You can’t go back to 2 without declaring it again or having the code change it back.

So what is the point of this exercise? Is there an example of where this would be more useful than just creating a new variable to express whatever value you’re looking to express? Why would I create variable a=7 and b=2, just to replace b with a? This is where I have trouble learning programming, I don’t fully understand the logic/uses of things. It seems pointless.

I’m struggling with the same thing. I just keep plowing ahead, hoping it’ll eventually click