Confused as a Self-Learner

Hi guys, I started my programming life as a game developer with Lua and then moved onto C# later to work using Unity. Although I managed to finish 2 of my own game projects, I feel like I didn’t learn programming the correct way. Or more precisely, I learnt how to code using C# but not how to program.

As a Result of trying to find a solution and make my self a good programmer I’ve come here and joined this awesome programe. But I am still confused with the names of these curriculums and what I have to learn here compared to what I’ve learnt already.

So, in my perspective as a game developer I see programming as a way of making something and object do something by making a system that guide it using logic, senses and etc. But it seems there is more to a programmer than that.

What I need help with it, can someone explain to me who will I become by following this awesome course, what is the ultimate result? What kind of skills? will following this course help me in game development too or just web development? I’ve heard that software like Computer games and applications is made using programming languages like C, C++, C# etc but (Maybe I’ve not researched enough) I saw more html, css, java, python in the course.

To be honest I’m really confused, can someone help me out. I’ve been a game developer who did all the coding, graphic, story, audio things by himself and I’m self-thought. What I want to become is someone who can do anything related to this machines. Be web, be machine learning, AI, game Dev, software anything. I want to become a good programmer. Will I achieve this goal? and (Forgive me if I’m being an idiot, still 17 yrs old) what kinds of things will I be thought by different parts of this course?

Thank you

• this is solid, you can work on that by improving your “data structures, algorithm” skills
  • knowing how to program is a more generic thing which can be used across all coding languages