Create a graph network javascript

Hello everyone!
I need your help, I have a project and the aim of this is to create a network graph dynamically in javascript. I have found this library to help me in my visualization vis.js.
I want to add some extra functions and make some changes. I am working with this template link Vis network
and in this part of code I would like to add a double click function.After the double click I want to show a new pop up with some fields to add extra info. Have you got any idea how to manage this, please? I need your help because I am new in javascript!
Thank you a lot!

Hello @markspenser, welcome to the freeCodeCamp Forums!

Depending on how new you are to the language, you might need to learn more before being able to do what you want. The vis.js library can handle the rendering of your network graph visually , but it’s up to you to leverage it correctly and handle the other requirements you specified:

This sounds like there’s 2 main goals you want to handle yourself.

1. Double-click, show a dialog/pop-up
  2. Within the dialog/pop-up, you want to dynamically change the data that vis.js is rendering.

You could change how the first part works, and simplify it, for example not showing a dialog at all, but the second part is where you can’t really simplify anything. If you want to dynamically configure your data, then you’d have to handle that regardless of if its in a dialog or not.

My main concern is you’d have to not only dynamically change the data you feed into vis.js but you also have to manage what the user sees in their browser, which is DOM manipulation, which then also has to reflect what data your actually code is working with.

Something like adding/removing “nodes” within your vis.js network means you need to update the DOM to add/remove elements or update how they look. This “juggling” between the DOM/UI and what your actually rendering could get rather complicated.