CS degree sucks. FCC is awesome

Hi, my name is Raul Galbincea

I’m just getting started with FCC and it’s been amazing ! I’m currently a University student majoring in Computer Science. The education system of my University sucks. I can hardly stay awake for the lectures in my CS classes and I just don’t feel that engaged. I was going to give up programming because of this until I looked up some videos on YouTube and found .FCC. FCC really gets you engaged with programming and I actually look forward to program. Literally today I was in class and thinking, “I can’t wait to program on FCC”. I just started 3-4 days ago and I can’t wait to get my front-end certification. I’m taking it step by step, wish me luck!

I just want to thank FCC ! Thank you guys so much for this awesome curriculum.

FCC vs. CS degree

Winner: FCC

1 Like

Hey Raul, I love your enthusiasm, but I am not sure I completely agree with you that FCC is better than a CS degree. First of all, FCC is not meant to be a replacement for a CS degree; it is a collection of challenges and projects. A CS degree on the other hand does many things FCC cannot. A CS degree will easily get a better interview, and may be required for a certain job. It shows you are smart enough to go through 3-4 years of college and not just learn on a little site or youtube; it shows that you will also be prepared for life. You will also learn many important principles that FCC will never teach you such as advanced algorithm solving.

Also to point out, since you have been at college you already have an understanding about how to code. FCC is very difficult for some people (especially the javascript side) if they have never programmed before. Believe me, you will probably get bogged down by the time you get to the back-end and data-viz. Don’t give up on your degree it will do so much that FCC cannot. (Don’t give up on FCC either if you find the challenges fun and engaging).

4 Likes