CSharp function with the out argument in Python

Hi, a python newbie here.

I am porting a CSharp app to python and have the line:

string sBlockName = GetInfo(iBlockID, out dLength, out dWidth);

Where
iBlockID is passed to the function
sBlockName is the return value
dLength and dWidth are passed by reference using the out keyword.

How to write this in python?

Any help is appreciated! :handshake:

Please note that I don’t want to rewrite this function in Python since it is a library function and I only want to translate the above single line to Python.

I don’t know that we have enough information to say much. Python uses pass my reference for complex data types, so I wouldn’t expect a problem. What have you tried? In which ways has it failed?

Thank you @JeremyLT for looking into this.

I have tried

sBlockName, dLength, dWidth = GetInfo(iBlockId)

Also tried

dLength = 0
dWidth = 0
sBlockName, dLength, dWidth = GetInfo(iBlockId)

Declaring a tuple

ans=()
ans=GetInfo(iBlockId)

This is also not working.

Declaring a list

ans=[]
ans=GetInfo(iBlockId)

This too is not working.

But what is inside the function?

@JeremyLT

You can imagine that the function looks up a database of Blocks that has columns like
Block_ID, Block_Name, Block_Length, and Block_Width.

So the function GetInfo Takes the ID and returns the Name of the block and also the length and the width of the block for the given ID.

I don’t know what’s inside the function.
It is a library function.

I can use it in CSharp and it returns the block’s name sBlockName when I provide the block’s ID in BlockID.

Besides that, it also fetches the block’s length and width in the out variables dLength and dWidth.

As mentioned earlier in the main question, I do not want to re-write the function, I only want to write the equivalent line of code for the CSharp function call:

Thanks again for looking into this.