CSS Variables Understanding

I am studying CSS Right, and going through that curriculum, but I’ve hit a snag. Not a snag is doing something, but rather understanding something. I do not understand the benefits of using CSS Variables, or their point. I’ve read MDN’s tutorial on them as well as the very short W3School explanation of them, and I just do not see their point. All it appears to do is cause me to add MORE lines of coding, and coding that just seems unnecessary. I just don’t see the benefit. I would desire less lines of coding, rather than more. Is there something I am missing? Is there a better explanation of them that I haven’t read other than MDN and W3School?

I understand what you mean it is more code but if u write good variables it’s pretty much the same. if you wanted a variable white for example you can call it $white.

The point of css variables is that can you change the theme of you sites by changing the variable. Let’s say your client changed their mind or you changed your mind and want another color. Then it’s much easier to just change one variable than go and change every variable.

Conclusion it may not makes sense if you make a easy website but if u have the same color for 10,20 places then variables are awesome.

1 Like

okay. definitely in that sense I can see the benefit of them. Maybe the initial write-up doesn’t seem beneficial, because of the redundancy and the additional lines, but I can see how it would make changing the look of a theme quicker than doing a “find, replace all” or needing to sift through hundreds or thousands of lines of code to change the color for each item.

It lets you define some property under a name then use that name for it everywhere, so it tends to produce less code, the code is generally more understandable, and the code is generally much easier to change/maintain. You don’t need to use variables, it’s just easier.