Deploying git master to a live server

I am a beginner and have successfully setup git to track code, push to origin (gitlab) and push to my live server (a replicated version for testing)

In my replicated version, I created a brand new empty subdomain then configured git to push to live [git push live master] and it worked perfectly - my entire website got pushed up and was working perfectly based on my tests.

Now, I want to integrate this into my actual live server working domain.

My question is - is this as easy as the replicated setup I configured? Given the replicated subdomain was empty, it meant that the push made both repositories identical and synced.

On the live site, there are a few directories and files which are NOT part of the repo (/backup, /wp, etc.)

Will this cause problems? The live server will have extra files and folders that aren’t in the repo - is this going to make the live server return errors (e.g. out of sync) or will it try and add them? Or can I just push and we’re golden?

I am hesitant to just switch over because I dont want to break the live site and want to make sure I cover all possible bases…

Without knowing much about how your live site is setup, so long as a git-tracked directory and all of it’s contents are modified through Git (or if you make changes to the code on the live site, that those changes are in turn checked back into the git repo, you should be fine.

We use Git for editing WordPress themes, so we have a Git repo placed in /wp-content/themes/git-tracked-theme-name. That allows us to do a git pull in that folder to deploy updates to a theme.