Diffculties with programming, should I stop trying?

I am not the smartest in my class and have some concentration issues and overthink stuff and compare myself to others a lot haha. I am new to coding although I do it at school am not that good at it. What bothers me is that I have a lot of difficulties going forward. I mostly don’t know where to start, where to look, or even what to search for when doing some assignments. Sometimes I don’t understand the logic behind the exercises I do and stare at it for a while. It takes me more than 6/7 hours sometimes to finish a small-medium sized assignment. That demotivates me a lot and causes me to miss my deadlines. As I said, I do a lot of research and try my best to understand it or look up how I want to solve the problem. Sometimes after hours I still can solve the problem, but here comes my brain with the negative thinking about how others finish it in fewer hours and that it takes me too long. I start to think that I am too dumb for programming and get demotivated to try, this causes me to lose interest and gives me the thought to give up. But I came so far with my study and don’t see anything else I would like to do. Even if it is difficult I want to try it and like it again even if it scares me to think about how I should or can go forward. When I don’t get what I should do and nothing works out, it gets worse. It feels like no matter how hard I try I progress too slow and don’t learn anything. I don’t really know what to tell myself anymore and start to think I am not suited for it, so I wanted to ask if someone experienced similar stuff and know how to deal with it or have some ideas/tips. Do you guys think I am not suited or smart enough to do programming and should I just stop trying?

1 Like