Different ways of reading this problem

Hello,

I’m a newbie to Javascript and this question popped up in class. Seems relatively straightforward but I struggle conceptually with where to begin a lot of the time so I’d be interested in different ways of writing the below problem for JS.

Practice if statements

1. Record what a user would like to eat in a variable
  2. Check if they like pizza, and if they do then respond with “yay pizza!!”
  3. Otherwise check if they like pasta, and if they do then respond with “ooh I love pasta!!”
  4. If they don’t like either one, respond with “brussel sprouts for you!”

I currently have this:

const userLikesPizza = true
const userLikesPasta = true

if (userLikesPizza) {
    console.log("yay pizza!");
}   else {
    console.log("brussel sprouts for you!");
}
if (userLikesPasta) {
    console.log("ooh I love pasta!");
}   else {
    console.log("brussel sprouts for you!");
}

However I’d be keen to see if used with the Switch option or even with a let condition posing a question, i.e. “What do you like to eat”

I just want to explore different ways of writing JS
Thank you!

I believe your if-else statement may need to look more like this:

if (userLikesPizza) {
return 'yay pizza!!'
} else if (userLikesPasta) {
return 'ooh I love pasta!'
} else {
return 'brussel sprouts for you!'
}

Personally, I think using an if statement for this would be better than using a switch statement.

but if your user likes Pasta and not Pizza they get brussel sprouts anyway. Instead it should be only for if they don’t like either one

a switch statement is not the best, because you have two different variables to check. It can be made to work but in an ugly way, so I would not use this method

consider instead using an if/else if/else chain, where each one of those is one of your steps 2-3-4