Discouraged - Need Encouragment

I’ve seen so many great posts by people who literally started coding less than a year ago and are already working as Front End Developers. I’ve been building websites since 2002, more as a designer with HTML and CSS, also using Wordpress and other cms’. I’ve recently started going through courses to make me a qualified front end developer; however I feel a bit discouraged that i’m about 5 months into it, but still haven’t been able to make the quick progress that others seem to make. I’m a mom with 2 kids, so i struggle to get the time to go through the courses quickly. I’ve been applying for jobs with the skills that I have, and unlike others who have gotten jobs just after months of learning on FCC, I’ve gotten a couple of "we’re sorry " letters and silence from the rest.

Any encouragement would be really helpful. I have the following skills

HTML/ CSS / Photoshop / Designing in Photoshop - Expert
Wordpress - Expert User, Beginner Theme / Plugin Developer
Drupal - Expert User, Beginner Theme / Plugin Developer
DNN - Expert User, Intermediate Theme Developer

Javascript - Beginner
PHP - Beginner

3 Likes

It takes a lot of time and work. If your life makes it hard to spend a lot of time and focus on studying, then it’s just going to go slower. Don’t worry about what other people are doing; just focus on making progress at whatever pace is your pace.

5 Likes

Thanks for the advice Ariel

I’m in the same boat. I know my comment isn’t of much help but I wanted to let you know you’re not alone! That’s one of my biggest fears is taking the time out to learn and grow (I do like it so I would learn and grow anyway) and then not be able to find a job. I don’t want the disappointment of that throw me off of what is truly my passion.

4 Likes