Does anyone feel ashamed to tell their friends that they are learning to code? Like me?

So, I am a beginner on coding. Started from CS50 ( well, I haven’t finished the final project yet as I want to learn more about building a website first) and just completed the Responsive Web Design Certificate.

My major is not related to computer science but I am quite interested in coding. Although I would like to, I’m not sure whether I will be able to get a job or make income from it.

I think the reason why I feel afraid of tell my friends about what I am learning is because I am not sure whether I can commit to the end or not. Landing a job also seems very far away.

I worry that my friends will judge me “Why are you wasting your time to learn something that is totally unrelated to your field”. Maybe I will want to tell them about it when I can build something worthwhile one day.

I have no troubles talking to internet strangers about it though. It’s just my friends that I feel embarrassed to talk to.

Just want to know, am I the only one who feels like this? Is it weird to feel like this? Is there a way to overcome this?

(Sorry for being a bit whiny. I am still very interested in coding, and will keep on learning.)

2 Likes

Hi there @sausagefist!

Well, coding is about like everywhere nowadays, in every field.

Each jorney begins from the first step. I’m a new in this field also, coming from totally different background.

I do understand that learning coding today- is like something fundamental. coding is all around us
getting job or making income? you have heap of options: freelancing, full time jobs, remote jobs and so on.
on the contrary, learning coding by yourself in my opinion its the best way, much better than being fed from a spoon ( and pay for it also)

Believe in yourself and don’t be shy of telling that you learning coding! It’s a wonderful jorney that I began by myself not a long time ago. once it was “geekish”. Today, its everywhere.

1 Like