English (US) spelling needed for coding?

Hi all! I’m brand new to coding, looking for a career change into data analytics and trying to get a headstart on the course I’m starting next year.

I just had trouble passing the first CSS test as I used the Australian spelling of ‘colour’ for the style and couldn’t get it to work.

I was wondering if that’s just an issue in the test (needing an exact match to be correct), or is it a universal thing that US spelling of words is required to make html/CSS work?

Thanks!
Karoline

1 Like

there is only one accepted way to write a css property or the name of an html element, it is usually the american spelling, yes.

2 Likes

Okay, cool. Thanks so much for letting me know.

Hi @Karoline

Welcome to FCC. One trick that has helped me so far is to always think of CSS, HTML and JS as computer languages independent of natural languages like English, French, Spanish e.t.c. They have their own rules about grammar and spelling.

2 Likes

Thanks for the welcome, @nibble ! And this great tip. I remember how beneficial it was to drop the constant comparisons to English when I was learning Portuguese, so this makes total sense.

Can I bother you with another beginner question since we’re here? Do I need to pay attention to the indenting that I’m noticing?

For example:

h2 { color: blue; }

[Sorry, the code I pasted in isn’t showing the way it does in the test screen but it’s the lesson on using the CSS selector to style an element.]

The h2 automatically went inward but I had to backspace to get that closed style tag to line up with the opening one. Do I need to do understand and replicate the indenting or will it work itself out? (Wishful thinking there? :grinning: )

The standard formatting would be

h2 {
  color: blue;
}

So that’s what the autocomplete would give you with the braces