Everyone's Favorite Topic: Arrow Functions!

Here is my code:

"use strict";

const todoList = {
    todos: ['test', 'test2', 'test3'],
    //Is this code good enough? Can I pass "this" to an arrow function somehow? 
    //Should a method use arrow functions?
    displayTodos: function () {
        this.todos.forEach(element => console.log(element));
    },
    //Arrow function in strict mode "this" does not work, must use todoList
    displayTodos2: () => todoList.todos.forEach(element => console.log(element))
};

The comments explain what I am essentially working with here. For reference, I’m very new to JS, and completely new to ES6, and arrow functions and “this” are kind of insane to me. With some research and tinkering, I managed to turn displayTodos into displayTodos2 which uses two arrow functions.

• Aside from the fact that if I did not write this, it would melt my brain trying to understand it, which method is correct for best practices?
  • Am I missing a parameter that lets me use “this” on displayTodos2?
  • Is this garbage code that is unreadable for other humans?

It seems like when you’re using “this” on the 2nd method, “this” is actually the global object. It’s like if you wrote a function outside of an object and used “this”, that would access the global Object. Inside of the first method, “this” is giving access to the owner object, which is todoList. I personally don’t know why that is but that’s interesting.

I hope someone else can be more helpful than me on this. I usually only use arrow functions as callback functions (like inside of map, filter, forEach, etc).

1 Like

Your explanation helped me to understand this a bit more, and I remembered seeing this in the MDN Arrow functions used as methods.