Extent of CSS knowledge needed

Hi there.
I am new to Wordpress. I had really liked to know the extent of CSS knowledge I need to make my website look good?
I have just the basic knowledge regarding the same.

I’d have to say “good” is relative to each person. What sites do you visit that you think are good?

I am supposed to work on this website:
http://www.mailbackupx.com/
What codes of CSS shall I look forward to?

When you say “work on it”, what do you mean exactly? What are you expected to change? To take a look at the CSS (albeit most of it has been minified), view the page source. I’m on a macbook pro at the moment, so I don’t know if you right or left click the page to get the view page source. Look for these links and click on any of them. They’ll take you to the CSS.

Your stated goals are a little fuzzy so it is hard to give a definitive answer.

* {
   good:100%;
}

If you had a specific change in mind someone on the forum might have just the answer you need.

There are books and online resources all about customizing (or even building from scratch) Wordpress themes. Note that some are outdated so check that you are learning about a current version (your version) of WP.

The proactive approach would be to study to become familiar with theme creation and then confidently update the site.

If you were just tweaking a few things here and there it might be sufficient to find a resource to help you make the changes and then test thoroughly that you didn’t break anything else. Since you’re dealing with payment and downloads that would include making sure you didn’t break security.