Feedback on Endencia Portfolio

I created my portfolio page, but do not have projects to brag yet. I did the tribute page and waiting for feedback.

Frances Endencia Portfolio Page

2 Likes

Hi. I looked over your tribute page and decided to force myself to give you constructive feedback. I usually avoid that because I have the bad habit of being honest, and I often don’t know when to stop. I’m sorry for any emotional damages my unfair ramblings might cause :frowning:

Design

I’m not a designer, but I try to pick up a few tricks as I go. I think I learned a lot from UI design articles on tutsplus, especially those by Ed Wassermann.

All text on your page is centered

I don’t think that is a good idea. The readers’ eyes have to constantly look for the beginning of the following line, which makes your text harder to read, if not tiring.
Also, I think it is important to design in such a way that visitors of you site can see and understand its structure without even reading a single word, just by clever use of color, distance between correlated elements, white space for separation etc.

The text is very bright

You chose pink #d6d as text color, which is not far away from the background-color’s #fff in terms of brightness. This makes your text even harder to read, in my opinion, at least. If you want to pull that color off, I’d go with a dark background color. I also tried darkening the font color to values between 20 and 40, which looked much more readable (i.e. #331733 - #662e66).

Your lists don’t look like lists

The formatting should make it obvious to the reader what is a list and what is not, but I don’t think it is on you page. Apart from the aforementioned centering, there are no bullet points etc. to indicate such. I looks like you wanted to use proper list tags, but it does not work. That is because your HTML is a bit messy. Your lists should look like this:

<ul>
    <li>Trained employees</li>
    <li>Hiring</li>
    <li>Payroll</li>
    <li>...</li>
</ul>