Feedback on Resume

Hi! I’m a software engineering student going into his final year, and I’ve been looking for internships/part-time jobs in web or mobile app development with pretty much no luck. Some feedback on how I can improve my CV/Cover Letter or job hunting tips would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I’ve followed people’s advice and updated my resume to include more details on the work I’ve done in my projects. Any further feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to everybody who weighed in on my previous resume.

1 Like

I have read a few resumes and conducted a few interviews in my day and I always just want the most relevant information at the top and forget the rest. Are you using the skills to fill up space? I would want to see more projects and actual jobs on it and wouldn’t care how you rank yourself skill-wise. That may just be an opinion, though.

2 Likes

If you’re currently a student, don’t call yourself a “software developer” at the top of your resume; it hurts your credibility. Just take that part out. The sentence below it doesn’t add anything either, would recommend taking that out. Also add your location somewhere—I’d suggest putting that in city, country format.

Your Education needs to have a date on it, along with a location.

Don’t put dates on “Projects” if those are just names of software applications that you contributed to. A date implies work experience, which from appearances, you don’t have yet. And don’t make long lists of stuff that just take up space. You could condense your lists in your Projects by a lot, by putting them into sentence form instead.

Finally, don’t ever rank yourself on your skills. All that ends up doing is hurting you. Only list skills that you’re confident in, and could answer any question about if asked during an interview. Delete anything that you’re not confident in.

2 Likes